You are here
Home > Album Review > Album Review: Unbroken by A Killer’s Confession

Album Review: Unbroken by A Killer’s Confession

by Casey Schwochow

Waylon Reavis of Mushroomhead has a new project entitled A Killer’s Confession. Their debut album, Unbroken, was recently released on the EMP Label Group, the label founded by Megadeth bassist David Ellefson. Joining Waylon, who was co-vocalist for Mushroomhead from 2004 to 2015, is Jon Dale on drums, JP Cross on bass, Matt Trumpy on guitar, and Paul Elliott on guitar. We here at HWID obtained a copy of their album and gave it a listen.

Unbroken blends a nu-metal sound with various industrial elements. The sound of the album is reminiscent of the works of Slipknot, Disturbed, and Korn. Brian “Head” Welch of Korn even pops up on the track “A Killer’s Confession”. Elements of Korn are audible on this track and many others on the album, but there’s still a long road the band has to travel down to get to the level of strong song structure and writing that a band such as Korn has demonstrated over the years.

The best tracks off the album are “1080P” and “L.O.L. (Life of the Lost)”. Both contain a powerful chorus with good melody. There’s actually some good, emotional singing that fits well among all the screaming on these two tracks.

There’s many guest appearances on the album’s second half, but the guests have no impact on making the album any better. “Sympathy”, featuring Kimberly Freeman of the band One-Eyed Doll, is a ill-suited ballad on the album. The last half of the album at this point pretty much falls flat and comes off bland.

Track listing:
1. Awakening
2. Spawn of 7
3. Rebirth
4. A Killer’s Confession (featuring Brian Head Welch of KORN)
5. 1080P
6. Final Breath
7. L.O.L. (Life of the Lost)
8. Reason
9. Sympathy (featuring Kimberly Freeman of One-Eyed Doll)
10. I Will Define (with Dead By Wednesday)
11. Judas Kiss (with Revillusion)
12. Letting Go (with Amerakin Overdose)
13. Purification (with HEX)

Leave a Reply