You are here
Home > Album Review > Album Review: Breathe by Through Fire

Album Review: Breathe by Through Fire

by Casey Schwochow

Through Fire, hailing from Omaha, Nebraska just released a Deluxe Edition of their 2016 debut album Breathe, and we here at HWID got our hands on a copy.

The album kicks off with the instrumental intro “Reborn” that runs just over a minute in length. It’s a good track that get’s the listener prepared for what lies ahead. Unfortunately what lies ahead doesn’t offer much to write about.

The songs “Breakout” and “Stronger” follow consecutively after the intro and are the best offerings off the album. “Breakout” has some solid guitar and drum work, with a catchy chorus sung by lead singer Grant Kendrick. The song “Stronger” was the first single off the album when it was originally released last year. It had some chart success, and it’s safe to assume that there would be no deluxe edition of Breathe without it. “Stronger” has mainstream radio appeal with a catchy chorus and well placed musical aggression.

The rest of the album comes off as generic hard rock – think Disturbed and Shinedown. It may be great for many, but it’s just not my thing. Through Fire also include a cover of Ellie Goulding’s “Lights” on the album. I’m a big fan of the original version, but they drop the ball with their version. This won’t be a cover tune success story that many hard rock bands find nowadays.

The vocals and musicianship are not necessary bad, but the quality of well-constructed songs is lacking. I needed a little more originality.

The 15-track deluxe version of Breathe does give some bonuses for those interested. It includes 5 bonus tracks and a guitar tablature booklet for the singles “Breathe” and “Stronger”. Extra tracks include a cover of Christina Perri’s song “Jar of Hearts”, as well as acoustic and extended versions of both “Breathe” and “Stronger”.

Track Listing

  1. Reborn (intro)
  2. Breakout
  3. Stronger
  4. Where You Lie
  5. Breathe
  6. Take It All Away
  7. Dead Inside
  8. Lights (Ellie Goulding Cover)
  9. Blood On My Hands
  10. Damage
  11. Jar of Hearts (Christina Perri Cover)
  12. Stronger (Acoustic)
  13. Breathe (Acoustic)
  14. Stronger (Extended Version)
  15. Breathe (Extended Version)

Leave a Reply